The Infamous Yellow Towel Is Back Up For Grabs!

Published: Thu 18 Dec 2008 03:36 PM
The Infamous Yellow Towel Is Back Up For Grabs!
The annual quest to find New Zealand’s most promising new comedic talent has begun. Last night comedians fought it out to secure a coveted spot for the 2009 Billy T Award, the most respected and long-standing award in New Zealand Comedy. The judging panel had a difficult decision as all of the comedians were such strong contenders.
Inspired by and named after New Zealand’s much-loved legendary comedian – Billy T James, the Billy T Awards are an initiative of the New Zealand Comedy Trust and part of the NZ International Comedy Festival; with the aim to ensure continued growth of live comedy in NZ.
The NZ International Comedy Festival are delighted to announce the nominees for next year’s prestigious Billy T Award – drum roll please…
Chris Brain: Voted ‘Most Improved Comedian’ at the 2008 NZ Comedy Guild Awards.
Dave Wiggins: Winner of ‘Best Newcomer’, NZ International Comedy Festival, 2004. ‘Honourable Mention for Best Comedy’, NZ Fringe 2006
James Keating: After only his seventh gig, James was awarded runner-up in the 2001 New Zealand International Comedy Festival “Raw Quest” open-mic competition.
Jim Brown: Voted ‘Best Newcomer’ at the 2006 New Zealand Comedy Guild awards and a Billy T Nominee in 2008.
Vaughan King: He was a new face in 2001 is and now proving to be one of the most promising new acts on the comedy circuit. A nominee for ‘The Green Room Award’ in the 2008 NZ Comedy Guild Awards.
The nominations for this award recognise and support New Zealand comedians with outstanding potential who display commitment to their given comedy field. The winner of The Billy T Award receives a $5000 cash grant from the New Zealand Comedy Trust.
The Awards are now in their thirteenth year and are a proven benchmark for new comedians. Previous winners have included; Cal Wilson, Ewen Gilmour, Te Radar, Sugar and Spice, Philip Patson, Humourbeasts, Mike Loder, Paul Ego, Brendhan Lovegrove, Jan Maree, Ben Hurley, Dai Henwood, Sam Wills, Cori Gonzalez Macuer, mrs.peacock and Steve Wrigley.
The 2009 nominees were selected on their proven comedic ability, talent, dedication, current form and potential, and will be judged on all aspects of their Festival show. Final judging will take place at the LAST LAUGH, Festival Awards night.
The Billy T Award is part of the 2009 New Zealand International Comedy Festival, which plays Auckland and Wellington from May 1 – May 24

Next in Lifestyle

Howard Davis: Estère At San Fran
By: Howard Davis
Back On The Stairway To Heaven: Led Zeppelin Wins Over Spirit
By: Binoy Kampmark
Amazon Original Borat Subsequent Moviefilm - Trailer And Launch Date
By: Amazon
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media