Ifra announces 6th annual Asia Media Awards 2007

Published: Sat 2 Dec 2006 12:44 AM
Press Release
Held in conjunction with Publish Asia 2007 in Manila
Ifra announces 6th annual Asia Media Awards 2007
Darmstadt, Germany / Singapore, 1st December 2006 – The 6th annual Asia Media Awards 2007 will take place in conjunction with Publish Asia from 27 to 28 March 2007 in Manila, Philippines.
For the sixth consecutive years, the Asia Media Awards will be held for newspapers and magazines in the Asia Pacific and Middle East. The highly-prestigious competition is being organised by Ifra Asia to promote the highest standards of publishing and creativity in the industry.
Hundreds of newspapers and magazines in Asia Pacific and the Middle East have taken part in the competition over the past six years. And with each year, the standard of print quality and journalism has been on the rise, a sign that the publishing industry is indeed in a most healthy state.
For the 2007 Asia Media Awards, Ifra Asia has introduced several new categories as part of its objective to encourage better and better journalism. The competition is now open to all newspapers and magazines in Asia Pacific and the Middle East. All entries except for Best in Print Award must be submitted to Ifra Asia by 26 January 2007.
The categories are as follows:
1. Best in Design Award:
The award will be presented to entries whose overall design, originality and content have achieved high levels of excellence. Entries will be judged not only on design but how design is used to project the contents. This includes the use of typography, photography, information graphics and colour.
Category 1: Best in Newspaper Design
Category 2: Best in Magazine Overall Design
Category 3: Best in Magazine Cover Design (new category)
2. Best in Infographics Award:
This award aims to acknowledge excellence in design, usefulness and clarity of information conveyed in newspapers and magazines.
Category 1: Best in Newspaper Infographics - Breaking News
Category 2: Best in Newspaper Infographics - Non-Breaking News
Category 3: Best in Magazine Infographics
3. Best in Print Award:
The Best in Print awards will be presented to newspapers for excellence in standardised printing. The focus of the award is to show the ability of newspaper to print according to existing international standard (ISO 12647-3:2005). This competition is open to newspapers only.
Category 1: Weekday circulation below 80,000 copies
Category 2: Weekday circulation 80,000 – 200,000 copies
Category 3: Weekday circulation over 200,000 copies
4. Best in Newspaper Supplement Award:
This new award recognises the most innovative and successful newspaper supplement.
5. Best in Photojournalism Award:
The award is open to all professional photographers working for either newspapers or magazines or supplying work to either news, sports or feature agencies or providing content for websites affiliated with newspapers, magazines or sites providing independent and non affiliated photojournalism content.
Category 1: News Photography - General News / Spot News
Category 2: Feature Photography
Category 3: Sports Photography
Category 4: Newspaper Photographer (new category)
Asia Media Award Gala Dinner:
The awards will be presented to all winners during the Asia Media Awards 2007 Gala Dinner, to be held on 28 March 2007 in Manila.

Next in Lifestyle

Joel Coen’s Monochromatic Macbeth
By: howard davis
Kenneth Branagh’s Black & White Belfast
Howard Davis
Dennis Villeneuve’s Dune - A Brief History
By: Howard Davis
center>Hilma af Klimt and Rita Angus
Howard Davis
Jill Trevelyan's 'Rita Angus, An Artist's Life'
By: Howard Davis