L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003

Published: Thu 3 Jul 2003 11:58 AM
L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003
Finalists announced in the L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003
Sixteen hair stylists have been selected to compete live in the finals of the L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003 on August 2: the tenth anniversary of New Zealand's most prestigious hairdressing awards.
These finalists were selected from over 360 photographic portfolios submitted by stylists from around the country:
The Supreme Award ­ New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year
… Penny Ainsley, Betttjemans, Orakei
… Jacqui Anderson, Servilles, Mission Bay
… Burnetta Haswell, Servilles, Mission Bay
… Miranda Howden-Waugh, Servilles, Albany
… Tiffany Jeans, Servilles, Chancery
… Celine-Marie Lamberton, Accolades, Christchurch
… Angeline Thornley, Rodney Wayne, Wellington
… Jamal Wiersma, Accolades, Christchurch (This category is open to any hairdresser currently residing in New Zealand.)
The Young Colourist Award … Olivea Anstis, Hairworld, Tauranga … Sanja Glucina, Servilles, Mission Bay … Jackie Hilton, Mod's Hair, Christchurch … Terry Whaitiri, Servilles, Mission Bay (This award is open to any hairdresser who began hairdressing on 1 January 1998 or later.)
The Couleur Pour Hommes Award … Kathleen Banks, Hairworld, Tauranga … Phif Bettjeman, Bettjemans, Orakei … Sophia Goodwin, Servilles, Milford … Guy Roberts, Vada, Auckland (A male model must be used for this category.)
The judges were looking for the elite of New Zealand hairdressers ­ including candidates worthy of the title, New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year. The 16 finalists demonstrate world-class hairdressing with flair, style and a commercial edge in the use of colour, cut and overall styling. The focus is on the hair, but judges also take into account the interplay with fashion.
The judges will return to Auckland for final judging on August 2. This happens live after the finalists have recreated the styles in their photographic portfolios, using their original models and completing the task in just three hours.
Three other categories are assessed solely from the photographic portfolios and are not recreated for final judging: the Team ŒTotal Look' Award, and the ŒStaple' and ŒHeadway' Magazine Awards. All entries are considered for the magazine awards. The Team Award, for teams of up to six people, recognises that in many salons now a colourist, a stylist and a senior consultant will often pool their talents to create a client's look.
The four finalists for the Team Award are: … Carl Watkins & Associates, Christchurch … Mod's Hair, Christchurch … Servilles, Chancery … Vada, Auckland
The judges for this year's awards are three of the best in Australasia, and boast a wealth of industry experience: … Clark York, winner of the inaugural L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards in 1994 and owner of Willis/York Hairdressing in Wellington … Caterina DiBiase, artistic director of Heading Out Hair and Beauty in Melbourne, winner of the Australian Colour Trophy in 1999 and 2000, and a judge for the New Zealand L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards in 2000. … Anne-Marie Garreffa, artistic director of respected South Australian salon Hair Machine, and winner of the Australian Colour Trophy in 1998 and 2001.
Hair and fashion are an inseparable and unbeatable team ­ and four of the country's top fashion designers will reveal their summer collections at the event: … Karen Walker … Natalija Kucija … Trelise Cooper … Nicholas Blanchet
This will all set the scene for a fabulous wrap party in the Concert Chamber, featuring the eccentric and energetic band Goodshirt, just back from their Australian tour, and renowned DJ and entertainer Mikey Havoc.
The prizes in the L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003 are:
The Supreme Award ­ New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year. The winner receives an all expenses paid trip to Paris, including a VIP visit to the home of L'Oréal, with transfers to London and tickets to the United Kingdom's L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy 2004 Awards (prize package worth $5000), as well as publicity and media training estimated to be worth more than $30,000, and the prestigious L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy, engraved with the winner's name and salon. The media exposure and industry recognition accorded the winner of The Supreme Award is invaluable to a stylist's career. The runner-up receives a Fujifilm M603 digital camera, valued at $1949.
The Young Colourist Award and The Couleur Pour Hommes Award. The winners each receive the Young Colourist or Couleur Pour Hommes Trophy, plus an all expenses paid trip for two to Melbourne, and tickets to the 2004 Australian L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards (valued at $2000 for each award). The winner of the Couleur Pour Hommes Award will also receive a surprise gift from sponsor Drambuie Cream.
The Team ŒTotal Look' Award. The winning team receives the Team ŒTotal Look' Trophy, engraved with the names of the winners and their salons, and a selection of prizes to a total value of $500 for each team member, including goodies from Peugeot, sponsors of this award.

Next in Lifestyle

1917's 1,000 Yard Stare
By: Howard Davis
New Zealand set to host World Cup of Floorball in 2022
By: International Floorball Federation
Tuia 250 Voyage ends but Tuia - Our Future is Unstoppable
By: Tuia 250
NZ Fringe 2020 has launched
By: New Zealand Fringe Festival
Tuia 250 ending is just the beginning
By: New Zealand Government
Final stop for Tuia 250 Voyage celebrates past and future
By: Tuia 250
Tuia 250 Voyage flotilla arrival in Capital
By: Ministry for Culture and Heritage
Courtney Johnston will lead Te Papa into a new era
By: Te Papa
Creative NZ board appointments
By: Creative New Zealand
Auckland Fringe Announces New Festival Director
By: Auckland Fringe
2019 NZ Comedy Guild Awards handed out
By: New Zealand Comedy Guild
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media