LIANZA celebrates Library Week 8 – 14 September

Published: Mon 9 Sep 2002 11:27 AM
for immediate release
LIANZA celebrates Library Week 8 – 14 September - with the announcement of the titles shortlisted for the 2002 LIANZA Children’s Book Awards.
The 2002 awards commemorate the work of Elsie Locke (1912 – 2001) with the renaming of the LIANZA Young People’s Non-Fiction Award as the Elsie Locke Award.
Elsie, well known as an ardent advocate for peace, was also a respected children’s author and an ardent advocate for children’s access to the history of Aotearoa, New Zealand.
Margaret Mahy describes Elsie as ‘ . . . a true beacon. She was a meticulous researcher and, by proving over and over again in her various books that New Zealand had an
identity uniquely its own, she offered children a true sense of self as New Zealanders. . .’
Elsie Locke’s first children’s book ‘The Runaway Settlers’’ in print since 1965, was awarded the Children’s Literature Foundation’s inaugural Gaelyn Gordon award for a Much Loved Book in 1999. Elsie, who also received the 1995 Children’s Literature Foundation’s Margaret Mahy Lecture Award, quoted in that lecture the words of Russian author Samuel Marshak, who, when asked how to go about writing a book for children said, ‘You proceed just as you would for adults – only you must do it better.’
There are four award categories with shortlisted titles selected from the New Zealand books published for children in 2001.
The Esther Glen award was established in 1945 to commemorate New Zealand children’s author and editor Esther Glen (1881-1940), and the medal is awarded to the author (who is a citizen or resident of New Zealand) of the children’s book which is considered to be the most distinguished contribution to literature for children.
The shortlisted titles are:
Beale, Fleur Ambushed Scholastic ISBN 1869434765
Hill, David The Sleeper Wakes Penguin Books ISBN 0141313242
Robertson, Alison Knocked for Six Scholastic ISBN 1869433130
Tipene, Tim Taming the Taniwha Huia ISBN 1877266523
The Russell Clark Award was established in 1975 in honour of the prominent New Zealand illustrator, to recognize excellence in children’s book illustration. All books illustrated by New Zealanders are eligible.
The shortlisted titles are:
Baynton, Theo Looking for Larry Scholastic ISBN 1869434595
Cooper, Jennifer The Pipi and the Mussels (text by Dot Meharry) Reed Publishing ISBN 1869488814)
Petrov, Anton A Book of Pacific Lullabies (edited by Tessa Duder) HarperCollins ISBN 1869503937
Petrov, Anton The Last Whale (text by Renee Hapimarika van de Weert)
Reed Publishing ISBN 1869487001
Elsie Locke Medal (formerly LIANZA Young People’s Non-Fiction Award): established in 1986 to promote excellence in non-fiction writing and the importance of children’s access to information. The award was renamed in 2001 to commemorate the work of Elsie Locke ( 1912- 2001) well-known children’s author and ardent advocate for children’s access to the history of Aotearoa New Zealand.
The shortlisted titles are:
Lockyer, John The Kea Reed Publishing ISBN 1869488776
O’Flaherty, Brian Rocky Shore Reed Publishing ISBN 1869487052
Pollard, Dr Simon I am a Spider Reed Publishing ISBN 1869488873
Stace, Glenys & Eagle, Mike Yes! We had dinosaurs Penguin ISBN 0140298932
The Te Kura Pounamu Award of a greenstone pendant (Taonga), was established in 1996 for the author of a book which makes a distinguished contribution to literature written for children or young people in Te Reo Maori.
The shortlisted titles are:
Darroch, Bob Te Kiwi Mataku I Te Po Reed Publishing ISBN 1869488830
Pohatu, Warren Mokai Rangatira Reed Publishing ISBN 1869487087
Meharry, Dot Nga Kutai Me Nga Pipi Reed Publishing ISBN1869488849
Recommended as an excellent resource for libraries:
Te Wharekura 64 Parihaka Learning Media
The awards will be presented at a ceremony in Wellington on Monday 18 November at the LIANZA Conference.

Next in Lifestyle

Troy Kingi Rules The San Fran
By: Howard Davis
The Phoenix Foundation Rises From The Ashes Once Again
By: Howard Davis
Howard Davis: Estère At San Fran
By: Howard Davis
Back On The Stairway To Heaven: Led Zeppelin Wins Over Spirit
By: Binoy Kampmark
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media