Westpac Otago Chamber of Commerce Awards

Published: Sun 14 Nov 2004 05:49 PM
Friday 12 November
Winners Announced at the Westpac Otago Chamber of Commerce Business Excellence Awards 2004
(Dunedin, Otago, 12 November 2004) The winners of the prestigious Westpac Otago Chamber of Commerce Business Excellence Awards 2004 were announced tonight at a glamorous dinner and performance at the Dunedin Town Hall, 12 November 2004. Approximately 400 local business and community leaders attended the sold out event.
Award speakers highlighted the strength and quality of the business entrants and the strong foundation of specialised companies in Otago. Speakers included Bevan Rickerby, Committee Chairman; Peter Chin, Mayor of Dunedin; Nick Smith, Business Manager and Director Allied Press and President of The Otago Chamber of Commerce; Bruce McLachlan, General Manager Business Banking, Westpac; and guest speaker Prof. Colin Campbell-Hunt, University of Otago. Annemarie Mains of Communication Link produced the Awards presentation.
John Christie, Chief Executive, Otago Chamber of Commerce and Industry, said: "This year's winners are all driven by excellence in business performance and the desire to innovate, challenge and prosper - all are true winners for Dunedin and Otago."
Winners of the Westpac Otago Chamber of Commerce Business Excellence Awards 2004
'Emerging' Quality Yarns New Zealand Ltd 'Manufacturing' Small/Medium Rinnon Products Ltd 'Manufacturing' Large Hillside Engineering Ltd 'Service' Small/Medium Fortress Information Systems Ltd 'Service' Large Greenslades 'Tourism' Small/Medium Classic Jaguar Limousines 'Tourism' Large Otago Museum 'Retail' Small/Medium Mark Laughton Motors 'Retail' Large Arthur Barnett Ltd 'Innovation' The Big Picture Ltd 'Export' Fisher & Paykel Appliances Ltd 'Thinksafe Workplace Safety' - Small/Medium The Breen Construction Company Ltd - Large Otago District Health Board 'Supreme Business of the Year' Award Otago Museum
The quality and number of entrants for this year's Awards impressed Bevan Rickerby, Chairman of the Business Excellence Awards for the last four events. "It is pleasing to see such a wide and varied entry base and the level of world-class businesses our region continues to produce," said Mr. Rickerby. "The finalists and winners are businesses that any city in the world would be proud to have as part of their community."
Sir Robin Gray reinforced the impressive quality and diversity of Dunedin and Otago entrants. The Award's judging committee included, Phil Moore, Westpac; Garry Heaton and Glen Munn, University of Otago; Ross Smith, Taylor McLachlan Ltd; Max Reily, ACC; and John Sear, New Zealand Trade and Enterprise.
The Otago Chamber of Commerce and Industry were the organisers of the Awards supported by sponsors Westpac for 'Supreme Business of the Year', Award; Upstart Business Incubator, 'Emerging'; Dunedin City Council, 'Manufacturing/Primary'; Allied Press Ltd, 'Retail; Taylor McLachlan Ltd, 'Service'; and Anderson Lloyd Caudwell, 'Tourism'. New Zealand Trade and Enterprise sponsored 'Innovation & Export' and ACC was again sponsor for Thinksafe Workplace Safety.

Next in Business, Science, and Tech

What Lies Beneath Is The Housing Market Turning?
By: Quotable Value New Zealand
KiwiRail strike notices withdrawn following new offer
By: Rail And Maritime Transport Union
Stress Tests Show Strengthening Bank Resilience
By: Reserve Bank
Deputy Governor Reflects On Time At RBNZ
By: Reserve Bank
Data Reveals ICT Expenditure Key To Small Business Sales Growth
By: Xero
Fonterra Lifts Forecast Farmgate Milk Price Range And Revises Earnings Guidance At First Quarter Update
By: Fonterra
Canterbury Museum: New Research - Bald Haast's Eagle Feasted On Moa Guts
By: Canterbury Museum
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media