Sportsmen and women receive excellence awards

Published: Fri 25 Nov 2005 03:26 PM
25 November 2005
Super sportsmen and women receive excellence awards
The 2005 Sporting Excellence Awards recipients were announced at a Gala Dinner at Eden Park on Friday 18 November 2005. "Auckland City were very pleased and proud to be involved in the award ceremony through our sponsorship of the Service to Sports Awards," says Amanda Gilchrist, major events sponsorship and promotions.
The Overall Sporting Excellence Award was presented to joint winners Mahe Drysdale, Juliette Haigh and Nicky Coles (New Zealand Women's Coxless pair) - all who demonstrated excellence in rowing. Winners of the Auckland City Service to Sports Awards were:
* Malcolm Beehre - billiards
* Dick Brockliss - softball
* Lee-Anne Clark - netball
* Beverley Cooper - rollersports
* Gordon Craig - athletics
* Dave Hickey - rugby
* Liz Matthews - curling
* Shad McManus - rugby League
* Craig Nevatt - tenpin bowling
* Kay Noakes - hockey
* Brian Parr - rowing
* Michael Ranger - gymnastics
* Donald Sim - tennis
* Marnie Sterner - rhythmic gymnastics
* Louana Waenga - touch
* Graham Walton - cricket
* Ross Williams - basketball.
* Other category winners were : Meadowset Graphics Masters Achievement Dene O'Kane - pro snooker Lion Red Referee / Umpire of the Year Neil Fox - soccer He Oranga Poutama Maori Achievement Nathan Nukunuku - softball Lindauer Special Reserve Blanc de Blancs Team of the Year Juliette Haigh & Nicky Coles - NZ Women's Coxless Pair - rowing SPARC Junior Sportsman of the Year Hamish Baron - hockey Peter Snell Institute of Sport Junior Sportswoman of the Year Marina Erakovic - tennis Asics Sportswoman of the Year Hayley Moorwood - soccer 91.8 MoreFM Sportsman of the Year Mahe Drysdale - rowing Sport Auckland Special Recognition Award Chris Lewis - Tennis

Next in New Zealand politics

Joint Press Release With President Of The Govt Of Spain, Pedro Sánchez, & The PM Of New Zealand, Jacinda Ardern
By: New Zealand Government
Peters Issues Judicial Review Proceedings
By: Rt Hon Winston Peters
Electoral Changes Will Bring Greater Transparency For Voters
By: New Zealand Government
Wellington’s Rapid Transit Option Progresses To Next Stage
By: New Zealand Government
Charles CHOGM Speech Green Light For Change
By: New Zealand Republic
Goodfellow To Retire As National Party President
By: New Zealand National Party
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media